How to Make Your Passwords More Secure!

Passwords are getting easier and easier to crack.  Here is a list of the top 20 worst passwords:  https://www.teamsid.com/worst-passwords-2015/  I’m still astounded that people are STILL using 123456, password, qwerty, abc123 and letmein.  Come on people, you’re killing me!!!!!!

NEVER use 1234567 or password.   (If you are doing this, I may have to come over and give you a verbal beating!)

It should never be your name, or something easy for someone to guess, like your kids name.

We all know that we all have too many passwords to remember!

Your password should be at least 7 characters long, have numbers, some symbol like * or @, a capital letter and a small letter.  However even these can be hacked more easily these days, especially if your password is something like @AmyEwald1.   Which mine is defintely NOT that!

I was reading an article the InfoSec Reading room and they had some good suggestions like using SFSP.  Secret Code & Memory Cue

For instance if there is a word you like to use (and I’m not thinking 4 letter words…I know some of you were thinking that!)….look at your telephone keypad, spell out that word on the keypad on your phone.   Then add a capital letter that means something to you in the front or back and put a small letter or word in the back that means something to you.  In between the numbers and letters and that funny symbol you like to use.

For instance if I decided to use my last name (which I NEVER do), the first two letters of my birth month and the first letter of my mom’s maiden name, then add the @ or the # symbols.

You can also substitute numbers for letters.   Like 1 for the letter I, or 0 (zero) for O.  3 for E, 5 for S, 8 for B.  See where we are headed???

Hope this helps you come up with new more secure passwords!

About Amy Ewald

I’m a wife and mother of a 4 ½-year-old daughter. I’ve worked in the IT industry as a Systems Administrator for over 15 years. I experienced my first migraine at age 11. My migraines have progressively grown in frequency and within the last 6 months, I was diagnosed with a chronic migraine. Last month I only had 6 pain-free days. In my pain-free time, I write two blogs, one to educate everyday computer users with Tech Tips, https://techtipthursday.wordpress.com, My other blog is dedicated to helping migraine sufferers, https://mommyhasamigraine.com I also enjoy, walking, yoga, writing, reading and spending time with my family. I'm currently writing and illustrating a children's book for parents with migraines to help their children understand the problem and how they can help!

Posted on January 27, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

