iOS 10 Lock Screen Widgets: How to Turn Them Off

A new feature with iOS10 was the introductions of notification widgets on your lock screen.   They look something like this.

ios101

Now some of these widgets can be helpful or they may annoy you completely!   There are two ways going about getting rid of these!   The first is to stop them all together!

First on your home screen go into Settings.

ios-9-settings-icon-100652824-large

Then look for the Touch ID and Passcode options and select it.

touch-id-and-passcode

That will bring up this screen, look for Today View and Notification View.   If they are both green that means they are turned on.  Press the button until they turn white and that shuts off all those widgets.

today-view-notifications-view

Now, perhaps you like some of those notifications there is a way to shut off some of them! Go to your home screen and lock your phone.   Swipe to the right once and these widgets should show up.

ios101

Scroll down to the bottom of this screen and you will find an edit button at the bottom.

ioswidgets

Once you hit the edit button this screen will appear.

ioswidgethome

If you notice the red circle with the line through it on the left, click on it.  It will bring a slide screen from the right that says remove.  Hit remove and poof it’s gone!   Up Next will let you know what is next in your schedule on your calendar.  The one I have selected is Calendar and that will remove any calendar widgets showing up on your home/locked screen.

ioswidgetdelete

This is also where you can add more widgets.  I like APPY Geek because it alerts me to the latest tech news!

 

 

About Amy Ewald

I’m a wife and mother of a 4 ½-year-old daughter. I’ve worked in the IT industry as a Systems Administrator for over 15 years. I experienced my first migraine at age 11. My migraines have progressively grown in frequency and within the last 6 months, I was diagnosed with a chronic migraine. Last month I only had 6 pain-free days. In my pain-free time, I write two blogs, one to educate everyday computer users with Tech Tips, https://techtipthursday.wordpress.com, My other blog is dedicated to helping migraine sufferers, https://mommyhasamigraine.com I also enjoy, walking, yoga, writing, reading and spending time with my family. I'm currently writing and illustrating a children's book for parents with migraines to help their children understand the problem and how they can help!

Posted on November 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

